Nissan Juke Owners Club banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone..The dealer i bought my juke tekna cvt refused to put an alarm on even though i agreed to pay extra saying that its against nissan's policy,does juke reallynot need an extra alarm system or should i get one?Your thoughts please...

·
Registered
175 Posts
Hi There,

I think the Tekna will already have an alarm as standard, the aftermarket one includes the ultrasonic sensors.... the risk of the dealer fitting it is that he'll need to take some trim bits off for the wires and could cause you a few quality problems if not done well...

·
Registered
659 Posts
Why d'you want another alarm?
Modern cars are highly theft-proof. That's why these days they are more likely to hijack you at the petrol station or on your drive. Or break in and nick the keys.

·
Registered
34 Posts
aysh

I am an Inspector in the police control room in a midlands force. As you can imagine we get calls every day about cars being nicked. Alarms in my opinion are a waste of time, nobody ever takes any notice when they go off. As one poster has already said modern cars are immobilised so you cannot nick itwithout the keys.

Modern car theives commit the crime that we in the police call "car key burglary" That means they break into your house to nick the keys to nick the car then it gets cloned.

My advice save on car alarm buy a house alarm and keep your keys by your bed. They usually only enter the hallway or kitchen to look for keys not a full house search and even hook them using coat hangers through letter boxes because people keep them in a little tray by the front door doh!

Hope that helps

Pete

·
Registered
8 Posts
Alarm doesn't make the car any less likely to be stolen. Immobiliser and deadlocks help prevent theft OF the vehicle. Alarm helps prevent theft FROM the vehicle - although when was the last time you checked out your window when you heard a car alarm going of?!